Changes between Version 1 and Version 2 of Software/UpgradeLinux


Ignore:
Timestamp:
03/24/14 23:26:33 (5 years ago)
Author:
smith@…
Comment:

--

Legend:

Unmodified
Added
Removed
Modified
  • Software/UpgradeLinux

    v1 v2  
    11== Considerations around upgrading Raptor on Linux == 
    22 
    3 Intro 
     3Upgrading Raptor on linux should be a relatively painless procedure. 
     4 
     5[https://iam.cf.ac.uk/trac/RAPTOR/wiki/Software/Configuration/Files This page] shows the list of files installed by the various Raptor components: 
     6* the files that are "system" files (the ones in bold on that page) are likely to be overwritten on upgrade. On linux, RPM will copy your original file to $filename.rpmsave before overwriting your version. 
     7* the files that are "your" files (the ones not in bold) are never going to be overwritten unless otherwise specified on the release notes for a particular veresion. If there is a newer version of the file avilable, on linux, you will see $filename.rpmnew in your conf directory. 
     8 
     9In either case, see below for recommendations on how to proceed. 
     10 
     11=== Merging .rpmsave files === 
     12 
     13When you encounter a .rpmsave file, it means that the default version of the file has been updated, and the installer has overwritten your version of the file - but your modified version of the old version of the file has been saved as the .rpmsave file for your reference. 
     14 
     15The best way to deal with this is to examine the changes you've made in your .rpmsave file, and re-make the changes in the new version of the file. 
    416 
    517=== Merging .rpmnew files === 
     
    921The best way to deal with this is to re-make the changes you've made in your file into the .rpmnew version of the file, then move the .rpmnew file over the existing one. Thus you end up with the new version of the file, but with your modifications. 
    1022 
    11 === Merging .rpmsave files === 
    12  
    13 When you encounter a .rpmsave file, it means that the default version of the file has been updated, and the installer has overwritten your version of the file - but your modified version of the old version of the file has been saved as the .rpmsave file for your reference. 
    14  
    15 The best way to deal with this is to examine the changes you've made in your .rpmsave file, and re-make the changes in the new version of the file.